Film Festival Announces Cinema Vanguard Awards

Posted on Dec 14 by SEASONS Magazine

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival will present the Cinema Vanguard Award to Jean Dujardin and Bérénice Bejo on Saturday, February 4. The actors will be honored for their performances in the acclaimed silent film, The Artist

with a tribute at the Arlington Theatre at the 27th edition of the Festival which runs January 26-February 5, 2012.

The Cinema Vanguard Award was created in recognition of an actor who has forged his/her own path- taking artistic risks and making a significant and unique contribution to film. The award has previously been presented to Nicole Kidman, Christoph Waltz, Vera Farmiga, Stanley Tucci, Peter Sarsgaard, Kristin Scott Thomas and Ryan Gosling.

“We are grateful to the Santa Barbara International Film Festival for this incredible honor. Delivering a silent film to the 21st century is no easy task, and it would have in no way been possible without the talent and dedication of the incredible ensemble of actors we had the pleasure of working with: James Cromwell, John Goodman, Penelope Ann Miller, Missi Pyle and Malcolm McDowell. This award is just as much for them as it is for us,” says Dujardin.

Be sure to purchase your tickets for the February 4 show at 8 p.m. A red carpet appearance will begin at 7:30 p.m. Purchase your ticket before December 13 and get 15% off. Tickets to “The Artist” can be purchased at


« »

Browse similar topics:

Web Exclusives

Related Posts