Santa Barbara Foundation Awards $66,500 to SB County Students

Posted on May 24 by SEASONS Magazine

Giulia Tasca, San Marcos High School student, accepting Fleischmann award, courtesy photo.

Giulia Tasca, San Marcos High School student, accepting Fleischmann award, courtesy photo.

The Santa Barbara Foundation’s  Fleischmann and Spaulding Awards were created to honor the academic excellence and dedication to community service. This year, 26 students from Santa Barbara County were selected to receive these honorable awards at the reception held on May 18.

“Giving out these scholarships is really important to us because investing in education is essential to our democracy and to moving our community forward,” says Ron Gallo, President & CEO of the Santa Barbara Foundation. “Today, we are here to celebrate the success of the individuals, both inside and outside of the classroom, who are going to make that happen.

This year, $66,500 was awarded to local students. The 2017 seniors who received this scholarship represent the top one percent of all high school students throughout the country.

“Students, you have made us proud because we are your community—who helped raised you as mentors, as teachers, as coaches and as neighbors—and we are your biggest fans,” says Santa Barbara Foundation Trustee Angel Martinez. “Your achievement is our aspiration for our community and society and country, but what got you here will not get you there and I encourage you to pursue every opportunity on the path to success.”

The recipients are hand chosen from students across the country. The top candidate receives the Spaulding Award and is given a $4,000 scholarship and the Fleischmann recipients are given a $2,500 scholarship. This year Delaney Werner of San Marcos High School received the Spaulding Award. Twenty five students received the Fleischmann Award including Ricardo Carrillo, Chloe Casady, Ana Cruz Adame, Mason Dochterman, Amanda Hagen and Anya Schmitz of Dos Pueblos High School; Emily Condon and Juan Alfonzo Esleta of Bishop Garcia Diego High School; Chad Goodwin, Elias Gaws, Eva Hennessee, Daven Martinez and Victoria Petersen of Santa Ynez Valley Union High School; Giulia Tasca, Emma Wagner and Brooklyn Snyder of San Marcos High School; Lauren Hagen, Haidee Jimenez, Leonel Olivio Fuentes and Kalia Wash of Santa Barbara High School; Valerie Laufer and Mayah Pico of Lompoc High School; Sandy Cruz Reye of Providence High School; Mackenzie Kephart of Carpinteria High School and Christopher Siefe of Cabrillo High School.

“To me, this award means that I am being given the opportunity to be successful and that I will have the support to pursue all my endeavors in college and beyond,” says Ricardo Carrillo, Fleischmann recipient and a senior at Dos Pueblos High School who will be attending University of San Francisco in the fall. “I could not be more grateful.”

These scholarships are made possible by Major Max Fleischmann, founder of the Santa Barbara Foundation, and Edward R. Spaulding, the first executive director of the Santa Barbara Foundation. Both of these members of the Foundation made substantial gifts to support academic excellence and community service. The Foundation is committed to supporting quality education throughout Santa Barbara County. Since its creation, the Santa Barbara Foundation has given more than $40 million in scholarships to local students.

For more information, visit or call 805/963-1873.

—Lauren Bennett


« »

Browse similar topics:

Education, Local Life, Nonprofits, This Week in SB, Ticker, Web Exclusives

Related Posts